Fluevog Shoes: The Good, the Bad, the Dangerous?

slingback, pump, shoe, designer shoes, Fluevog, fashion, footwear

An early Fluevog shoe with the square heel similar to the witch boots.

John Fluevog is a local name in Vancouver. He began designing shoes in the early 70s and has gone on to international fame for avant garde designs. I used to own an early pair (80s) of Fluevog boots that I bought second hand. I called them my witch boots. They had a heel that sloped out to a square, a squared off pointy toe, a turnover cuff, and a big silver buckle on the front. Made of black suede with a thin, hard plastic sole, they weren’t the most comfortable or well made boots, and were actually a size too big but they were fun. I eventually passed them on. I also had (and still have) some Peter Fox shoes, and originally Fox and Fluevog was the name of the shoe store the two men opened up.

I’ve often gone by the Fluevog store and looked at the crazy designs. Sometimes they don’t appeal, sometimes they do but they’re not cheap shoes. You’re looking at an average price of over $200 for a shoe. I would say  a “basic shoe” but there is no such thing in Fluevogs. From sandals to boots, there are dressy and casual but always unique. I needed a new pair of boots last fall so I checked out Fluevog. Boots are never cheap and because I have large calves not easy to find ones that go above the ankle, and I hate boots that stop at the ankle.

I have bought lace up boots for years and Fluevog had a range. Unfortunately many are just too narrow for my calves. I covet tall boots but they’re rare to find. I’ve been thinking of getting into steampunk too and tried on the Monday boot. The looked great. At $299 they couldn’t be less so I bought them.

I have problem feet. They are extremely wide and I need orthotics, which never work that well. Although I have dress shoe orthotics I gave up on getting them to ever work in boots. So I wanted something that would be comfortable for a reasonable length of time. The soles on these boots are leather, with not a lot of extra padding but fairly thick as it is. The top is brushed suede with decorative silver stitching. The lower boot is of a matte style leather, slightly rough, a bit shiny.

I started wearing the boots right away and within two months the laces were being chewed to pieces by the grommet holes on the boot. While metal grommets will wear on laces eventually, these were rough enough to destroy the lace rather quickly. On top of that, putting on the boot one day, there was something bunching around the toe. The leather insole that covers the nails and stitching had come loose. Fluevog fixed this as there is an 8-month warranty, but I was still surprised it happened. On top of that, the moment you polish the boot that rough matte look tamps down to shiny black. As well, the heel has a hard plastic bottom. I have found when walking on an incline of wet pavement that this slips. I haven’t fallen yet but I have to walk carefully, putting my foot down firmly so I don’t slide. That is dangerous.

boots, lace up boots, shoe, designer shoes, John Fluevog, fashion

Made of suede and leather, the inside says “Another Day with Hope.”

The good thing about these boots is that they are extremely comfortable, even more than I expected for feet that get sore. I haven’t had any boot or shoe in years that is so well balanced that the weight is distributed along the entire foot. The weight doesn’t rest on the ball of the foot alone (the cause of my orthotics) but is carried also by the heel. This is why stilettos can be very hard to wear. Tiny pencil heels and a small sole area increase the pounds-per-square-inch pressure that your feet carry. So kudos to Fluevog for being the only shoe designer out there who seems to get it.

When I bought the boots I had tried on some not so flattering shoes and some, like the Wonder Ayers, were very cute. They came in black and olive green. I could not afford two pairs of Fluevogs and the boots were more a necessity. But I thought of the shoes for two months and when I took the boots in to be fixed they had this pinky purple color. One thing my friends know about me is that I love color. I’d just finished a freelance job and couldn’t resist. Three hundred dollars later, I had the Ayers shoe, which was not too tall in the heel and turned up at the toe. I love ankle straps and this pair has two. How could I lose? They’re also well balanced at distributing the weight and centering it along the foot.

Wonder Ayers shoe, Fluevogs, shoes, fashion, designer shoes, leather

The Wonder Ayers, fun and stylish

I didn’t wear these for the first month as it was too cold and rainy. I wore them a bit at a time to break them in and stretch them. In the first month I slipped twice on linoleum floors and went down so fast I couldn’t break the fall. Luckily my heel slipped sideways and I went down along my leg and knee, bruising the knee one time. The same material is on this heel, and the side of the plastic is actually edged to a corner halfway up the side. This is the plastic piece on the heel that protects the shoe itself from wear.

I started to get scuffs on the toes because of the style and while that’s expected I found out Fluevog does not carry the polish to match these shoes, so I’m stuck. Even the polish they gave the shoes when I took them in for repairs doesn’t quite match the original color, not to mention it would be hard to polish around the white stitching. Neither of these are the biggest problems with this shoe. At less than three months old, with less than two months of wear I noticed the leather sole pulling away from the shoe, and then I saw the leather was ripping along the inner side at the top where the shoe bends. When I took them in Fluevog should have given me a new pair, considering price and age, but they sent them off for repair. The leather soles have been replaced with Topy soles and they’ve put a fairly invisible patch on the inside of the shoe to stop the tearing.  But I’m not happy.

For comfort and style and innovation, Fluevog gets a 9-10. For customer service, a 7–each time they’ve said, oh this hasn’t happened before, so am I buying the only bad pairs out there? For materials and support items (polish) they get a 5. The colors are good, the stitching well done, the leather feels good, but rough grommet holes, hard plastic heels that are dangerous, soles the pull away and leather that splits brings Fluevog’s score down. While the materials are better than those early pair, Fluevog still has room for improvement, especially when the shoes are so pricey.  That’s 72% for shoes that should be 85% and above.

5 Comments

Filed under art, consumer affairs, Culture, fashion

5 responses to “Fluevog Shoes: The Good, the Bad, the Dangerous?

  1. Suzan Mandla

    I really appreciate your comprehensive article on Fluevogs. Like you, I have “unique” feet that require orthotics so shoe shopping has become a more of a challenge rather than a fun experience for me. My favorite specialty shoe store has started carrying Fluevogs (go figure) and I saw a pair that looked AMAZING, I mean I haven’t felt that way about a shoe in YEARS. And they actually felt pretty good. But the price gave me pause. And since I didn’t know much about the quality/durability, I decided to do some reading before taking the plunge and buying them. I’m not saying I’ll never buy a pair but I will definitely not rush out and get them. I have Finn Comforts and Mephistos that are going on three or fours years old now and those workhorses are still going strong. For $300 a pair, that’s what I expect. Anyway, thanks again for sharing your experience so honestly. Cheers, Suzan

  2. CatherineWard

    If you buy Fluevogs at a Fluevog store and they have your information, you have them for life. Best made shoes I have ever tried and I have problem feet. If you buy a sensible pair they will be expensive because of the unbelievable work that goes into making sure you are comfortable. That is why they are so expensive. I had a pair of sandals and I fell (my mistake) and took them back because the heel came away from the sandal. Fluevog
    offered to fix them or give me the exact shoe new in another color. I had them fixed because I loved my color. Buying Fluevogs makes more sense than buying shoes that won’t last. You cannot get a better warrantee than that!

  3. rhonda prestopino

    Rhonda prestopino
    19/09/2020
    After purchasing my frist pair of Fluevogs in 2018 , I have never looked back! Just happened to be passing this unique store in Melbourne and I just stopped with a smile. They are well worth every cent !!! I was so impressed with the comfort and the soles of the shoes. and the designs are so unique.
    I gave all my other shoes in my wardrobe away once I discovered Fluevogs!. Nothing competes , I mean nothing!! If you question the price, then re- think as you will have these for a lifetime guarantee. The staff were amazing and when I received my shoes in the mail, so many lovely extras came with them.

  4. Duke

    Fluevog prices are far too high considering the consistent issues with the shoes’ construction and lack of durability.

  5. Jenny

    Like other commentators on here I too have challenging feet and buying shoes for me requires research before purchasing.

    Does anyone have any experience with the Fluevog “sneaker” called the Duesy?

    They are pricey, so I want to see what other wearers say beforehand. Thanks !

Leave a comment