WordPress Creates a Bomb

wordpress, hidden dashbar, frustrating changes, blogging, writing, designing blog

Is WordPress owned by Microsoft because this latest change smacked of the annoyance that every Microsoft upgrade has.

If you recently logged into your WordPress blog, you might notice that things changed, and change drastically they did with no warning. It seems WordPress decided to study Facebook and take a page from the book of annoying.  Normally, they’ve done a few changes and they seemed okay and intuitive. The dropdown menu was great. So this morning when I logged in I couldn’t find where to get to my posts, nor how to find my dashboard, which is where the other aspects of designing the blog are, such as managing comments, placing widgets, changing themes, edit and adding posts, reviewing old ones, etc. The dropdown menu had been simplified but nothing seemed to indicate where the dashboard was. So I thought I’d find feedback, which they used to have and which I didn’t even have to use very much. I found the support section and posted a comment (my comments are in regular font, blue italics for the volunteer who was driven as crazy as me, other colors for other commenters. There are a few more comments in the actual thread but they were only spinning off or commenting on what they disliked as well. Full thread is here:

What the hell? You guys have changed everything, even on how to contact anyone or leave feedback. Now I have to hunt to find a way to make a new post and view my previous posts. Not to mention, where did my dashboard go? This is not one of your better tinkerings. Please put back the dropdown menu and make it easy again.

The blog I need help with is colleenanderson.wordpress.com.

No changes are going to be reverted. If your have specific issues please list them and we will deal with them.

where did my dashboard go?

https://colleenanderson.wordpress.com/wp-admin is where you l;of-in and logging in results in being on your own blog’s dashboard.

Now I have to hunt to find a way to make a new post and view my previous posts.

new post link > https://colleenanderson.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post-new.php
all posts link > https://colleenanderson.wordpress.com/wp-admin/edit.php
sticky post at the head of the forum > Changes to Media Handling > http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/changes-to-media-handling?replies=1

It’s fine to have a bunch of links listed but that doesn’t help me when I sign in. When I log in, I cannot find the dashboard that lists themes, posts, etc. I can hit new post, sure. But I often have some in the works and want to go back to my list.

Other changes in the past have made sense, made accessibility easier. This one falls into the realm of annoying Facebook changes. If it takes me longer to hunt, it certainly isn’t intuitive.

Oh, and why is it even harder to contact WordPress. I had to really really hunt for a place to post. What happened to “Feedback?”

@collenanderson
re: the links I provided
You’re welcome. Please fee free to bookmark them as I have done so you can access them quickly and easily.

Unfortunately bookmarking is a stop-gap and doesn’t make ease of accessibility from the wordpress page better. I use different computers and bookmarking is not the best option. I hope wordpress will think about these changes. I agree with the above person too on inserting media. There are now more steps to do the same thing.

We’re devolving here. I understand you’re a volunteer and thank you for your prompt answers but they don’t let us navigate wordpress any better.

@collenanderson
This is a peer support forum where Volunteers answer most questions and tag threads with issues we technical issues that we cannot assist with resolving. We don’t provide emotional support for adaptation to unwelcome changes (please note that we are probably just as unhappy as you are and we don’t get any prior warning of any changes either), but we are happy to assist with technical issues and tag threads when Staff assistance is required.

If I needed emotional support I would go cry on a friend’s shoulder or have a drink. I’m talking about feedback here. As in, where do I click on the wordpress page to get to my list of past posts and my drafts? Why is it so hidden now? Do I now need a map of links to get there? Isn’t that rather old fashioned?

If wordpress is so uninterested in how their changes affect their users that would explain why there is no longer a section for leaving feedback. And likewise, the dropdown menu was useful and quick. It is no longer there and no longer quick.

Like the person above, where can we leave feedback?

As in, where do I click on the wordpress page to get to my list of past posts and my drafts

Your dashboard is here > https://colleenanderson.wordpress.com/wp-admin

Dashboard > Posts > All Posts
https://colleenanderson.wordpress.com/wp-admin/edit.php

Dashboard > Posts > All Posts (Drafts)
https://colleenanderson.wordpress.com/wp-admin/edit.php?post_status=draft&post_type=post

Like the person above, where can we leave feedback?

There is no specific forum for feedback.

I know what to do when I have the dashboard. What I’m talking about, again, is that when I log in I see no place to bring up the dashboard. If I have to have a host of links, then wordpress has just gone backwards in time.
Step 1. Log in
Step 2. Go to dashboard (what do I click on?)

This has yet to be answered. Don’t give me a link, tell me what I’m looking for to find the dashboard.

Dashboard > Posts > All Posts
Dashboard > Posts > All Posts > (Drafts)

Sigh. There is nothing that indicates the dashboard. Where did you find the dashboard? It is the dashboard that I’m still looking for. I’m sure once I find the dashboard I’ll find the posts and drafts and widgets and themes and all the other things that are there once you have the dashboard.

There is no dashboard. I AM TRYING TO FIND THE DASHBOARD, PLEASE.

This is the link to your own blog’s dashboard https://colleenanderson.wordpress.com/wp-admin

Read more here > http://en.support.wordpress.com/dashboard/

For clarity the link to every wordpress.com dashboard is the URL of the blog followed by /wp-admin/

You’ve said that there is no forum, but that isn’t really what we asked. We are asking for any way that we can leave feedback. Is there an email address or a form (not a forum) we can fill out anywhere?

I understand you want to provide feedback re: the changes and that’s why I tagged this thread for Staff attention long ago.

There is not phone support. The email address is only for technical issues and using it places you in a queue with those who have technical issues being addressed to Support Staff, not to developers who make these changes. When we create a support ticket by contacting Staff or by flagging a thread here in the forums for their assistance it’s important to understand Support Staff have a backlog. They deal with the support tickets and threads with the earliest dates first. So if we contact them more than once on the same issue or bump threads the date moves forward and it takes longer to get help. This thread is flagged for Staff attention. What’s required is your patience please.

I didn’t think this was a hard question You could even send me a screen shot showing what you click on, but giving me a link again and again does not answer my question. After I log in, what do I click on, that is not a link, that will let me get to the dashboard?

It seems I cannot include a screenshot but once I log in there is nowhere that the word dashboard shows. No where. Not in the minimized dropdown menu, not when I click the blue tabs. No where, no dashboard. Sure, once I get the dashboard, I have all my usual choices, I presume, but where, without sending me another link, is the dashboard? Describe the steps to get to it by clicking. Or is it gone and that’s why we’re playing out this fiasco?

Please wait patiently for Staff to assist you.

Colleen, you can open the Stats tab, and then click on the little blue W logo above the graph on the right-hand side.

Pictures of how to log in:
search for wordpress.com login on Google, then click on “log in”
http://1tess.files.wordpress.com/2012/12/log-in-1.jpg
screen to put in username and password
http://1tess.files.wordpress.com/2012/12/log-in-2.jpg
click on your gravatar
http://1tess.files.wordpress.com/2012/12/log-in-3.jpg
manage blogs—>choose blog—>(fly-out menu) choose—>dashboard
http://1tess.files.wordpress.com/2012/12/log-in-4.jpg  (I guess they didn’t get that thing about not giving links but tell me where to click, but this time the links were relevant, even if red circled in case I couldn’t read “Manage My Blogs.” Yeegods, that used to be where you went if you had more than one blog or wanted to add other writers. I never thought the dashboard would be hidden there.)

@gio162,
OMG, now why was it so hard to get to this point? Thanks. I didn’t even see that tiny hidden logo and didn’t think it linked anywhere.

And @1tess, thank you also. It was nice of wordpress to hide things and make this a hunt. Maybe next time wordpress does a wholesale switcheroo a little sidebar for a month that explains where everything has moved to would help. But that’s right, there is no feedback area, like there used to be. Instead we got to play back and forth all day. Sigh.

For future queries:
1. Log in.
2.Scroll over gravatar image
3. Click on “Manage Blogs”
4. Click on “Dashboard.”
5. Tadaa!

At this point the thread continued for a day or two but I haven’t included everything. WordPress answer my question…eventually. I really hope they didn’t take a page from Facebook (but even as I write this the formattting for the block posts has now been screwy for days.) Oh, and let’s not dwell on the demise of the Freshly Pressed… no longer easy to find.

4 Comments

Filed under Culture, internet

4 responses to “WordPress Creates a Bomb

  1. filidhe

    I use Blogger, (run by google) it’s easier for me, as I never wrapped my brain around WordPress (and have now forgotten my password to the site, so I won’t be leaving this email as a comment…) It does seem like they are going backwards in UI philosophy.

    ________________________________

    • colleenanderson

      I had blogger but it wasn’t as good as far as being searchable. WordPress did have more tools as well and wasn’t as limited but the new change has made a few people unhappy. Looks like they put it out without testing it first and they did used to have a feedback or contact section but that’s definitely gone. Now there are forums. Hopefully they’ll learn from this and make some tweaks. 🙂

  2. Hmmn… mine looks the same. I’m on a learning curve with wordpress having recently switched from blogger.

  3. Pingback: WordPress Creates a Bomb « Best WordPress Theme

Leave a Reply

