Apocalypse Diet Summary: Days 47-52

food, cooking, apocalypse diet, zombies, food supplies, leftover

Zombies might like them but I'll stick to the meat of the matter. Creative Commons: Wellcome Images

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 47 (Feb. 16):

Today’s lunch was quinoa and pollo en mole (from the freezer). Dinner was… to tell the truth I forgot to write it down. Oh right, it was…Brussels sprouts, with carrots, margarine, garlic, herbs and spices.

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 48 (Feb. 17):

Lunch was a simple affair of hazelnuts and dried cranberries. I knew friends were coming from out of town, and I wasn’t very hungry. I met with a couple of other friends first and we shared nachos, then dinner later was my usual sesame ahi tuna at Biercraft and a couple-three of ciders.

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 49 (Feb. 18):

The friends who came up from Seattle gave me some monster cookies last night. I froze most but I ate a whole one for breakfast. My heart was racing afterwards, since it equaled about three good sized cookies. That was a bit too much sugar all at once but it sure was tasty. Dinner consisted of some pre-frozen shepherd’s pie.

I went dancing tonight and afterwards I was so hungry that I took a flour tortilla, warmed it up with some sundried tomatoes in oil, and a sprinkle of parmesan cheese.

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 50 (Feb. 19):

I woke up hungry so I fried up some onion and garlic and six veggie gyozas. I also realized that if I don’t cook that whole chicken soon I’ll be having it without any vegetables. So it’s thawing for tomorrow night’s dinner.

Tonight was another flour tortilla (the bag has a hole and they’re drying out) with a repeat of sundried tomatoes and parmesan. We drank most of the pomegranate juice last night with vanilla vodka. I had the rest tonight and now it’s gone.

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 51 (Feb. 20):

Avgolemono soup, and chocolate chip cookie were my lunch and snack. I went to work out and then had to go for a CT scan and didn’t have time to eat so I was starving when I returned home to eat at 9:30 pm. I ate some crackers while waiting for everything to cook.

Tonight was the chicken, the whole delectable chicken. I hate skin and fat so I skinned my chicken first. I found some very old frozen crusts

I'll eat the beets and leave the brains to the zombies. Creative Commons: http://inmolaraan.blogspot.com/

in the freezer so I broke them up, mixed them with salt, pepper, rosemary, onion, two eggs, cajun spice and what I thought was sage. It turns out I mixed up my containers and put basil in . I also threw in some turmeric for fun, and zedary. Yeah, I don’t know what that is either.

I stuffed the chicken, then seared it in sauteed onions, garlic, part of a shriveled jalapeno, salt, pepper, a cajun spice rub and olive oil. I stuck the whole thing in a dutch oven with one chopped, slightly shriveled turnip (I lied when I said a week or two ago that I had carrots and turnip– I ended up not eating that night) and two beets. I also cooked up some brown rice.

So there I was with a nice slice or two of chicken breast, stuffing, rice, turnips and beets, and even gravy though it looked like congealed blood from the beet coloring. The stuffing okay with the basil. Not bad for Day 51. I ate too much too because I was so hungry so now I’m rather full and have enough for several days at least.

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 52 (Feb. 21):

Lunch was leftovers; chicken, turnip, beets, stuffing. My through the day snack was the mondo truffle cookie that I couldn’t eat all at once because I felt all sugar funny. Supper was, yes, the same as lunch. I’m very sensitive to the change in flavor of meat after it’s cooked. I need to eat the chicken in the fridge within three days. Anything left over after that will either be frozen or turned into soup stock.

To recap after my first month on the Apocalypse Diet, I’m pretending that an apocalypse takes place (maybe it’s a supervirus, massive alien abductions or an evil plot), which stops the supply lines (but for the sake of staying healthy and clean, the hydro-electric power and water are still working). Since the Mayan calendar actually shows the ending of one age and the beginning of another, maybe it’s now the Zombie Age (we’ve already had the consumer age).

I am documenting how long I can live on the food in my place, without shopping. Here are my rules:

  1. I cannot buy any food at all.
  2. If going out for dinner, it’s a bubble outside of the experiment. I can take home the leftovers but this isn’t a stop-gap so no ordering pizza.
  3. When I start to run out of proper nutritionally balanced foods I will take vitamins.
  4. When I become bored or am on to only condiments and alcohol, I will end my experiment.
  5. Someone can give me food, for in the post-apocalyptic world we might want to trade or eat together in safety once in a while.
Leave a comment

Filed under consumer affairs, Culture, entertainment, food

Leave a Reply

