Apocalypse Diet Summary: Days 41-46

 

Apocalypes Diet, end of the world, zombies, eating, food, diets

How well will we eat at the end of the world? Creative Commons: Kyrenius http://www.flickr.com/photos/jango-jordan/

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 41 (Feb. 10):

This is the beginning of the bubble weekend, where the Apocalypse Diet went on hold. I had a friend visting and she wanted to go out to eat so we had some calamari and ahi tuna at Biercraft for lunch. For dinner we went to Les Faux Bourgeois, where we shared the goat cheese, walnut and beet salad, and had two tarts, which were squares of puff pastry, one with caramelized onions and creme fraiche, the other with spinach and goat cheese. Those three dishes were enough to fill us up.

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 42 (Feb. 11):

Really, I should start the renumbering after this weekend due to the food bubble but that would get too complicated. So, I did buy food for the party, some salamis, cheese, crackers, veggies and dips. The crackers are separate and will keep. The mayo is labelled so I can’t use it for anything else until after the party. I brought the candies to work for others to consume. The cheese will keep but what can I do with the veggies? The only way I can see around this is to take some of the stock I still have, make soup, freeze it and then use it after the Apocalypse ends.The salami went, as well as all the other goodies people brought. It’s going to be very very difficult to resist the delectable cheeses (three types!) sitting there and taunting me. I will tuck them away in a dark dark drawer.

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 43 (Feb. 12):

Sunday, a day that could be re-labelled Hangover day. While I didn’t have one, by the time I put the food away last night and got to bed it was 4:30 am so I was rather tired and slept in. I felt a bit like a zombie but luckily I took off my makeup before I went to bed or I would have looked like one. My friend and I went for brunch where I had a veggie eggs benedict, then I drove her to the airport. Tomorrow, it’s back to the diet.

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 44 (Feb. 13):

I know this blog will not be the most exciting. No rampant gnawing on my cranium, no dire wrestling matches with decomposing, animated humans, no creative concoctions in my kitchen. But in about a week the true challenge will ensue. My freezer is still saving me.

Today’s feast was minimal after the weekend chowdown. I took some hazelnuts from the freezer, and some dried cranberries. I am so not a person who likes dessicated fruit corpses. However, I was going over to my friend’s tonight where she cooked chicken, rice, chard and broccoli, which was yummy and filling.

 

food, eating, dieting, apocalypse diet, end of the world, zombies, food supplies

These were at my party but I took them to work to get rid of them. No brains though. Brach's candy hearts from marriage.families.com

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 45 (Feb. 14):

Heart day but I’m still not eating them or brains. More nuts and berries for lunch. Dinner consisted of some pasta, with slices of carrots (left over from the party but existing beforehand), some oil, garlic and a bit of Parmesan, which still exists.

That soup stock that I thought I could use for the leftover party veggies…turns out to be shepherd’s pie. I do have a bag of veggie ends in the freezer to make veggie soup stock. Will probably do that this weekend.

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 46 (Feb. 15):

Today’s lunch was quinoa and pollo en mole (from the freezer) and dinner was the same as last night’s pasta.

As I was looking for a lost file on the computer I found “Diary of a Taxation Dieter” from 2002. I’ll be posting it here because it was the first time I tried the Apocalypse Diet, but for a different reason. It’s interesting to note that I was a chocoholic then, but my lunches consisted of chocolate bars and corn chips. Not healthy. I now eat much healthier and make up soups or salads to take for lunch. I don’t eat chocolate bars for lunch anymore (not much). I’ll post that in a few days.

To recap after my first month on the Apocalypse Diet, I’m pretending that an apocalypse takes place (maybe it’s a supervirus, massive alien abductions or an evil plot), which stops the supply lines (but for the sake of staying healthy and clean, the hydro-electric power and water are still working). Since the Mayan calendar actually shows the ending of one age and the beginning of another, maybe it’s now the Zombie Age (we’ve already had the consumer age).

I am documenting how long I can live on the food in my place, without shopping. Here are my rules:

  1. I cannot buy any food at all.
  2. If going out for dinner, it’s a bubble outside of the experiment. I can take home the leftovers but this isn’t a stop-gap so no ordering pizza.
  3. When I start to run out of proper nutritionally balanced foods I will take vitamins.
  4. When I become bored or am on to only condiments and alcohol, I will end my experiment.
  5. Someone can give me food, for in the post-apocalyptic world we might want to trade or eat together in safety once in a while.
3 Comments

Filed under consumer affairs, Culture, food, life

3 responses to “Apocalypse Diet Summary: Days 41-46

  1. Bunny Eats Design

    What kind of freezer do you have? I can’t imagine having Shepherds pie in my fridge/freezer draw without knowing about it. I hope you enjoyed your bubble weekend.

    • colleenanderson

      Just a normal freezer on the fridge. I think I’ll have to take some pictures so people can see what my still mostly full freezer looks like. šŸ™‚ Bubble weekend was fun and of course in a real apocalypse there would be no bubbles and I would eat even less and stretch it out forever, but I’m actually now used to not buying food. Except cat food. Don’t want the cat eating me.

  2. Bunny Eats Design

    I think you might be surprised at how self sufficient cats can be. But you’re right, it probably wouldn’t do to make your cat part of the experiment too.

Leave a Reply

