Apocalypse Diet Summary: Days 2-4

For those just popping in, the apocalypse happened on January, 1, 2012, just in time for people to freak out about the Mayan calendar. Of course, since the Mayan calendar actually shows the ending of one age and the beginning of another, maybe it’s now the Zombie Age (we’ve already had the consumer age).

Pretending that an apocalypse happens that cuts the supply lines (but for the sake of staying healthy and clean, the hydro-electric power and water are still working), I’m experimenting to see how long I can live on the food in my place, without shopping. Here are my rules:

  1. I cannot buy any food at all.
  2. If going out for dinner, it’s a bubble outside of the experiment. I will not be going out for dinner often.
  3. When I start to run out of proper nutritionally balanced foods I will take vitamins.
  4. When I become bored or am on to only condiments and alcohol, I will call my experiment  ended.
  5. I believe I’ll be able to eat relatively healthy at least until March.
zombies, food, diet, apocalypse diet, end of the world, cutlure, fear

What zombies eat Creative Commons: geekstir.com

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 2:

Yesterday I reported my discovery of the virus and concluded I will need to eat frugally and not waste any food. (I did go for dinner last night so that is exempt). The only thing I added last night from my staples was a drink of absinthe consisting of about two ounces absinthe, water and two sugar cubes.

Today I had another glass of egg nog and a good dose of rum in it for one cannot live on egg nog alone. I had about four crackers and four chocolates. Because of the holidays I still have a goodly amount of chocolate left and predict I might be eating chocolate still at the end of March.

My fridge is well stocked with vegetables and some of them need to be used before they start to turn. Every chopped off end is put into the freezer to make future stocks when the food runs low. For supper I made a concoction (which is how I normally cook) of the Chinese variety. I stir fried the following:

  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 chive top stems
  • pepper & 1 tsp. jalapeno
  • 2 tbsp. soy sauce
  • 2 cloves of garlic (I’ll really miss this when it’s gone)
  • 1 slice of yellow onion
  • 1 small slice of ginger
  • 1 small carrot
  • 1 c. broccoli
  • 2. c. mixed seafood (mussels, shrimp, squid, oysters, clams)
  • the last of a bottle of bean sauce rinsed out with vegetable stock
  • 2 c. gai lan or another type of Chinese leafy vegetable
  • 1 c. of a leafy green plant, slightly bitter
  • 1/2 c. enoki mushrooms
  • 1.5 c. rice noodles

I think the virus is still taking hold. There’s not a lot of stirring yet and only some moaning.

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 3:

Today’s lunch was yesterday’s dinner and highly mediocre. I don’t like mussels that much and rice noodles are surprisingly slimy if you forget they’re in there. Noticed a few more zombies today, doing a few odd things on the road. Yesterday and today they were driving very slowly. That’s not like Vancouver’s normally crazed drivers. (Could also be leftover turkey endorphins).

Breakfast was a German shortbready cookie thing, and dinner was nearly meatless shepherd’s pie. I used some of the turkey stock with bits of turkey in it, along with leftover gravy (created more) mushrooms, broccoli (I’m going to miss this vegetable first) celery, carrots, green beans going zombie bad, garlic, onion, and potatoes mashed with leftover almond milk. I skimped on the potatoes since they’ll run out soon enough but I kept the potato water for later meals. No point in wasting any nutrients. The good thing is this shepherd’s pie is tasty and filling and will give me at least another 4-6 meals. The freezer is rather burdened (in a no electricity scenario I’d be eating the freezer foods first, trying to salt my meats and storing them in the mild wintry weather outside) so I’ll probably try to extend the green vegetable life by interspersing with some soups. I’m lucky that my fridge is one of those low humidity types that can extend the life of veggies for months.

Fruit will disappear first but I found six blackberries left in the fridge by a friend who turned into a zombie and is in Germany spreading the virus. I have some pomegranate lime juice that won’t last so I’m sure some vodka or rum will extend it some. (Okay, yes, I’m having a bit more alcohol than is the norm but I’m still getting over the shock of the holidays and the zombies.)

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 4:

biohazard, contagion, disease, viruses, zombies, apocalypse diet, end of the world, eating, food

Creative Commons: kazuki89 deviantArt

I had the last of these Chinese pancakes that were in my freezer, with a bit of hot sauce and soy, for breakfast. I’m not much of a breakfast person so that’s fine for me. Lunch was the shepherd’s pie.Tonight is pasta with veggies of course, left over canned tomatoes, and a bit of cheese. Still good on the veggie front for a couple of weeks. No sign of zombie infestation except a few creaking gates.

But what’s scarier than a zombie? It could be a mugger, a rapist, a cannibal (I guess a zombie fits in there but with less discriminate taste) and a disease. I watched the movie Contagion last night. It plays on our modern fears and suspicions of cover-ups, looting, hoarding, death, brutality and disease-spreading. The looting of stores and supplies could be a real threat and my Apocalypse Diet would fit such a scenario.

Leave a comment

Filed under consumer affairs, Culture, food, life, myth

Leave a Reply

