Writing Update

writing, publishing, stories, novels, fantasy, editing

Creative Commons

Hello, world. Well two reviews have come out for Horror Anthology of Horror Anthologies which has my story “It’s Only Words” as the opening story. I haven’t had a chance to read it yet but Des Lewis seems to have delivered another intriguing anthology. The reviews are quite favorable to my story so check them out here: Matthew Fryer’s  and Karim Ghahwagi’s.

I am also now working steadily (finally!) on my novel with the working title of Lyranda. It’s the name of the world but will not do for the title at all. It’s medieval style on a different world, with three races. I haven’t read Game of Thrones yet but after watching the first season I was inspired, thinking yes, my novel could be this good.

I tossed out about half of the first 30,000 words and was working on writing through one of the three story arcs, so I had something like chapters 2, 7, 12, 14, etc. done. But I finally got to a point where I needed to go back and familiarize where one of my other characters is going, since the three are on separate arcs till they all meet up halfway through. So now I’m going back and rewriting some of the original chapters. Procrastination is a powerful thing and I think I beat it down, finally. I’m going to try to keep up the impetus there.

“A Book By Its Cover” has just gone through edits and will soon be going to press in the Mirror Shards anthology, edited by Tom Carpenter. Witches and Pagans #23 should be arriving any day and has my poem “Shadow Realms” in it.

I’m working through slush still for CZP and reading a medieval style fantasy right now. That author has also inspired me to get on with my own story. I won’t know whether I’ll send that on to Sandra yet but it’s reading very well (after I asked for some rewrites) and I’m kept intrigued so we’ll see.

A discussion came up recently on our SF Canada list (and seems to be resurfacing): should one comment on a review of their work, especially if the reviewer got something wrong or didn’t read through the full story? The overall consensus is not to comment as it could just get ugly. But it’s okay to say thank you, or in some cases clarify info, but one must tread carefully. To get embroiled in the merits of a review is just not going to go well no matter what. There are even some infamous cases out there of authors going ballistic all up and down a reviewer (Anne Rice) for one and it just does not help. What do you think?

That’s it for now. A bit too busy to write much for the blog but I’m sure that won’t stop me. 😀

Leave a comment

Filed under Culture, entertainment, fantasy, horror, poetry, Publishing, science fiction, Writing

Leave a Reply

