Writing Bits: Grants

I’ve just found out I sold a poem, “The Drowning Ones” to ON Spec. I’m not sure when it will be out but I imagine in the next year.

I’ve also been asked to write a skewered fairy tale for an erotic anthology, I believe. I’m waiting for more details at this point and nothing is for sure.

I finally received my study assistance grant from the BC Arts Council. I had applied for this to help defray costs of the Kansas CSSF workshop. It wasn’t as much as I asked for but talking to writer friend Linda DeMeulemeester, she received one on the same day and less than what she’d asked for. I believe with first time appliers they probably do give a smaller amount, testing the waters, you could say. The caveat is to turn in a report on the workshop for which they gave the grant, as well as receipts.

It’s much better than a poke in the eye with a sharp stick to have received this (makes me feel like a real writer) and it opens up the possibility of applying for larger grants to take time to write, most likely working part time. I’ll be looking into that in the near future so see if I can get going on the novel.

I also finished a story that came out of being in Kansas. The words “exegesis” and “apocryphal” stuck in my head while there. You have no idea how often writers can use these words. So I have sent a story out on its fledgling flight, titled “Exegesis of the Insecta Apocrypha.” It is indeed a mouthful.

“A Kind Hand,” Which took ten years to finish, was completed in Kansas (I was there for novel writing but some short fiction was written as well.) I’m now trying very hard to get the first draft done of “Awaking Pandora,” even longer in the making and will be a novelette when it’s done. The first was fantasy and the latter will be SF.

I’ve also been ruminating on the novel and think I can now start writing through the chapters on my antagonist. I plan to write his through story first, then go back and write the second antagonist’s through story. Then I’ll go back and write my major viewpoint character and slot them all together. I’m sure there will be enough to iron out. But breaking it down into smaller chunks will make this more doable for me and now that I have a better idea of all the story arcs I think it will be fairly smooth sailing.

Since returning from Kansas I’ve also been writing at least 200 words a day in fiction. A couple of days were major rewrites and I counted those. I hope to keep up writing at least that amount every day.

1 Comment

Filed under entertainment, fairy tales, fantasy, Publishing, science fiction, sex, Writing

One response to “Writing Bits: Grants

  1. I close the door and see a shard of sunlight reaching across the gloom in a wide arc and I think of my mother and that tree and how things might have turned out differently.

Leave a Reply

