Apocalypse Diet Summary: Days 53-58

food, leftovers, homemade food, Apocalypse Diet, eating, diets

Here is the freezer in my fridge. Big bag in front is just ice.

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 53 (Feb. 22):

While I’m pondering my emptying fridge (but not yet empty) and cupboard full of alcohol, I must also ponder the state of zombies. If you’ve watched Walking Dead these zombies aren’t completely stupid, but more like animals. They don’t seem to see well or distinguish flesh from rotting flesh but they seem to smell exceedingly well. They’re hearing is pretty good too but they are rather listless when not voraciously feeding. So, I’m guessing the creators used pack animal mentality and a certain mindlessness to create their walking dead. The zombies’ strength is in the pack. And these zombies aren’t choosey; juicy guts, crunchy tendons or meaty brains are all equally yummy to them. Nom nom nom.

Lunch was again the chicken, turnip, beets and rice. I had a meeting in the evening and didn’t get a chance to eat beforehand. My stomach was growling so loudly I thought everyone heard it. So , around 10:30 pm when everyone had left, I had some of my pre-frozen veggie chili, replete with nuts and seeds on rice.

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 54 (Feb. 23):

soup stock, food, dieting, eating, frozen foods, end of the world

Not a zombie brain: I save my veggie scraps and will make vegetable stock out of these frozen bits.

The last of the uber cookies met my gullet today. What a nice reprieve that was. Guess what lunch was? The chicken, with rice, beets and turnips. There is a bit of chicken left but I think it will be going into soup stock now, a weekend project. Went for a couple of drinks with the worker bees, ate a few edamame, then got home at 8. I took a flour pesto tortilla, with sundried tomatoes and sprinkles of parmesan (it’s a container so it’s been lasting) and had that for dinner. The oil really oozed out of that thing. Then I dropped by my neighbor’s to get some DVDs and had two glasses of wine.

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 55 (Feb. 24):

In honor of Mardi Gras, and because I found one last container in the freezer, I had homemade gumbo with rice. That stuff is soooo good! I could eat it all the time but I’d be 300 lbs. I made the roux, which takes a while. Other ingredients are tomatoes, shrimp, green beans, carrots, okra, turkey sausage and jalapeno peppers. Because of its high fat content it should keep me going until later in the evening.

As it turned out, I got pretty hungry by evening. The last flour tortilla was used. I fried up some of the chicken bits with sundried tomatoes, garlic and onion. I’m beginning to think garlic will be the last vegetable in my fridge.

food, eating, Apocalypse Diet, food supplies, homemade food, preserving food

The fridge. That jar on the far right, second shelf--it's sauerkraut and will probably be the last thing I eat before I call off the diet.

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 56 (Feb. 25):

Saturday: I had one of the last rice cakes with almond butter and chocolate chips sprinkled on top for brunch. Late lunch was avgolemono soup. I was out early in the evening so we went for a late dinner (11 pm) and I had a mild, banal chicken curry on rice, with enough left over for leftovers.

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 57 (Feb. 26):

Lunch today was the leftover curry. Then I ate some crackers. For some reason it was a big hunger day, and I wasn’t doing much. I did watch 28 Weeks Later the second in the zombie movies after 28 Days Later where they’re now repopulating Britain but…yes, things go awry. Interesting twist and this virus transmits instantaneously with nasty blood vomiting to complete to gore factor. It wasn’t bad but the first one was better.

I had a snack in the afternoon (there is almost no chocolate left) that consisted of sunflower seeds, dried cranberries, and banana chips which remind me of softened toenails. Zombie food? Dinner was pasta with sundried tomatoes, onions and garlic. Noticing a theme here? Yes, almost out of all veggies. However, I still have eggs and found a brownie mix in the cupboard. I chopped some hazelnuts and threw them in with a handful of cranberries. I really shouldn’t have added the last. I don’t like dessicated fruit corpses. I like them fresh, with their brainzzzz. But hey, it was chocolate. I can live through the moistened cranberries.

But I did make up chicken stock from last week’s chicken, found barley and kidney beans, used the last of the limp and starting to rot celery, along with one carrot, four cloves of garlic, and two slices of onion. That went into the stock pot and the soup turn out hearty and pretty good. I’ll be freezing up some of that.

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 58 (Feb. 27):

food, cooking, eating, diets, Apocalypse Diet, vegetables

Veggie drawer. Those browny green things are softening limes. Brussels sprouts, parsley and garlic, oh my.

vegetables, food, Apocalypse Diet, eating, cooking, preserving food

One of my veggie drawers. I've been ignoring the apples and cabbage which will be juiced in the next while.

The zombies still haven’t got me though a friend sent a cartoon of the four ways to become a zombie: radiation, virus, infection and college. I can attest to the last. I’ve seen the zombies on the SkyTrain and trudging along the streets. They’re too mindless to even attack when they’re in exam mode.

Breakfast was a bowl of my chicken barley bean soup. It turned out pretty good. Lunch was Filipino birthday noodles at work. They make long noodles for a long life. Supper, some of the leftover veggie chili.

To recap after my first month on the Apocalypse Diet, I’m pretending that an apocalypse takes place (maybe it’s a supervirus, massive alien abductions or an evil plot), which stops the supply lines (but for the sake of staying healthy and clean, the hydro-electric power and water are still working). Since the Mayan calendar actually shows the ending of one age and the beginning of another, maybe it’s now the Zombie Age (we’ve already had the consumer age).

I am documenting how long I can live on the food in my place, without shopping. Here are my rules:

  1. I cannot buy any food at all.
  2. If going out for dinner, it’s a bubble outside of the experiment. I can take home the leftovers but this isn’t a stop-gap so no ordering pizza.
  3. When I start to run out of proper nutritionally balanced foods I will take vitamins.
  4. When I become bored or am on to only condiments and alcohol, I will end my experiment.
  5. Someone can give me food, for in the post-apocalyptic world we might want to trade or eat together in safety once in a while.
2 Comments

Filed under Culture, entertainment, food, movies

2 responses to “Apocalypse Diet Summary: Days 53-58

  1. I SHOULD TOTALLY DO THIS TOO – SERIOUSLY!!! I HAVE A TERRIBLE HABIT OF buying food even though I have a ton of it at home already, makes no sense but it’s like my drug! LOL.

    • colleenanderson

      Yes. Like how long have I had the barley, or those banana chips. It’s forcing me to declutter the cupboards. I could use some of the stuff for mortar. :)

Leave a Reply

