Apocalypse Diet Summary: Days 32-37

zombies, apocalypse diet, eating, food, end of the world, dieting

Will I have to eat brains at some point? Creative Commons: geekstir.com

To recap after my first month on the Apocalypse Diet, I’m pretending that an apocalypse takes place (maybe it’s a supervirus, massive alien abductions or an evil plot), which stops the supply lines (but for the sake of staying healthy and clean, the hydro-electric power and water are still working). Since the Mayan calendar actually shows the ending of one age and the beginning of another, maybe it’s now the Zombie Age (we’ve already had the consumer age).

I am documenting how long I can live on the food in my place, without shopping. Here are my rules:

  1. I cannot buy any food at all.
  2. If going out for dinner, it’s a bubble outside of the experiment. I can take home the leftovers but this isn’t a stop-gap so no ordering pizza.
  3. When I start to run out of proper nutritionally balanced foods I will take vitamins.
  4. When I become bored or am on to only condiments and alcohol, I will end my experiment.
  5. Someone can give me food, for in the post-apocalyptic world we might want to trade or eat together in safety once in a while.

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 32 (Feb. 1):

Since I posted early yesterday I didn’t list that I had a seaweed snack, one of those little packages of salty green weirdness. Then for supper I had the last of some cheese perogies, which I probably had for over a year. I fried them up with onions, garlic and sundried tomatoes. Last night I watched 28 Days Later, a variation on the zombie story where people are infected with rage through highly contagious blood and there are very few people left in Britain. It starts with Cillian Murphy waking up in the hospital, not knowing what has happened. Gee, Walking Dead, wherever did you guys get that idea for your pilot show? Problem was, I had nightmares about zombies and not a restful sleep. Dang.

Breakfast was a watered down glass of pomegranate juice. I have a very large bottle and that stuff just does not go bad. My freezer food, spicy veggie peanut soup was supposed to be lunch but someone made a special Filipino noodle dish for someone else’s birthday (long noodles long life) and I had that instead.

While I was keeping an eye on the green veggies in the fridge I missed the two sweet potatoes taking on a zombie-ish tone and turning mushy. By the time I peeled away the grossness I had about 1.5 sweet potatoes that I cooked with 5 Brussels sprouts, and mixed them in some pesto sauce I found in the cupboard. Not a great meal but okay.

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 33 (Feb. 2):

Groundhog day found me eating the groundnut (another name for peanut) spicy soup I should have had yesterday, plus

brains, zombies, apocalypse diet, eating, diet, food, end of the world, cooking

Leftovers can get tedious, though I cycle through my frozen foods at any time. Creative Commons: http://www.lastkisscomics.com

some of someone’s nacho chips. Breakfast had been another handful of those peanut snacks and there is only a handful left. And guess what, supper was the rest of the sweet potato with some pesto sauce, plus a can of pop I had in the fridge. Black cherry, a little taste of sugary sunshine.

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 34 (Feb. 3):

Lunch was a combo of some of my gumbo, and a few pieces of sushi someone brought in. That held me until later Friday night when I went lazy and cooked up some pasta, with scallops and the pesto sauce. I had some leftover red wine in the fridge so I drank that before it went bad.

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 35 (Feb. 4):

Another weird Saturday. The last of the crunchy peanut snacks is gone. I try to update this daily so I don’t forget but I think that might have been all I had until the evening at a friend’s for a light meal. I did have a couple of crackers with a very thin slice of cheese before going to bed. I don’t worry whether cheese will give me weird dreams (as reported by some) because my dreams tend to be rather odd on average.

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 36 (Feb. 5):

A small bowl of brown rice with a spoonful of pesto sauce for lunch. I repeated Friday’s dinner by having pasta with the last of the scallops and the pesto sauce. Pesto is so good. Other than that, a snack of the very last slice of cheese and six crackers was my day’s food.

I watched The Invasion today with Nicole Kidman and Daniel Craig, about an invading and alien virus, which takes over people and reprograms them. It had enough tension that I was on the edge of my seat for part of it. It’s another possibility of how supply lines would be upset. While the human bodies would still need the food, in this time of transition stores are empty and Nicole gets to drain a lot of pop and eat nuts to get by.

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 37 (Feb. 6):

This morning I had a rice cake with almond butter, and a sprinkle of dark chocolate chips (doing it the Dutch way). Lunch was a bowl of avgolemono soup. I’m not a big eater normally and yes, I am eating a bit less. I have noticed I’ve lost a few pounds but nothing truly significant. So consider, I’m in month two of my Apocalypse Diet and I’m not really scrimping a lot.

 

2 Comments

Filed under consumer affairs, Culture, food, health

2 responses to “Apocalypse Diet Summary: Days 32-37

  1. I was thinking that you could watch zombie movies for inspiration. I’ve become a huge fan of zombie movies in the last few years. I guess part of me kind of hope that if it happens, I’ll be better prepared than your average non-zombie educated person. I loved 28 Days Later and The Walking Dead too.

    I love your Friday night dinner. Scallop pasta with pesto sauce and red wine. That sounds delicious. Doesn’t sound like over 1 month into an apocalypse to me. You sure know how to ration out the good stuff :)

    • colleenanderson

      I’ve been trying to save a few things and doing the frozen soups and such in between. Once all the fresh veggies are gone there is a can of tomatoes, and then I’m hooped. I think I have about two more weeks of stretching out the veggies before even the celery and garlic is gone.

Leave a Reply

