Apocalypse Diet Summary: Days 16-19

apocalypse diet, food, eating, restaurants, zombies,

What would a zombie restaurant serve? Creative Commons geekstir.com

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 16:

Starting the third week of the Apocalypse Diet and indeed I have not bought any food so far for 2012. I’m also not allowed to buy alcohol for home consumption but if I’m going out I’m allowed. I rarely drink much at home alone so this isn’t a big deal. As far as fresh vegetables go I still have brussel sprouts, garlic, onions, potatoes, carrots, celery, beets, turnip, bok choy and gai lan. But the last of the mushrooms went yesterday. Goodbye, mushrooms! I’ll miss you. I figure I’ll be able to make it through the next two weeks on the fresh veggies but then it will be a little more creative. I have limited fruit, some pomegranate juice and frozen berries, which will come out when everything else is gone. Hmm, there are some old frozen bananas so I could make banana bread if I have enough flour.

This weekend was the start of working on the frozen repeats so today’s lunch was my semi-successful clam chowder made with almond milk. It’s semi successful because I can’t make it thick and creamy like real chowder but better than my first try. However, freezing it separates out the “milk” and flour.

Dinner was pasta with sundried tomatoes, artichokes, last of the zucchini, shrimp, sunflower seeds, garlic, onion on rotini pasta. It was okay but the vinegar aspect of the artichokes made it a bit tart and I had a reaction (as I often do to vinegars).

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 17:

Crackers for lunch! It wasn’t meant to be this way but I left the cheese sitting on the counter. Crackers, mmmm. I had a meeting this evening where sushi was supplied so that counteracted the hunger but I started yawning a lot, probably because of no food and then the sugar spike from the white rice. Hot cocoa with marshmallows was my pre-bed drink. I don’t really like warm drinks but it’s so cold outside that even the zombies have frozen up. And really, the only good use of a marshmallow is in hot chocolate or rice krispie squares. The premix hot chocolate is too sweet so I tossed in a couple of spoonfuls of dark cocoa, and then had to add a lump of sugar because it was too bitter.

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 18:

I entered the land of zombies today, foregoing my car for the possible bad snow conditions. One inch of snow can be very terrible in Vancouver and cause a lot of problems. People in Port Moody, Abbotsford, Langley and Chiliwack had a lot of snow and very icy conditions so indeed traffic was snarled. I looked around on the SkyTrain but ran into someone I knew so we ignored the zombies. And yes they were there. You have to wonder how long some of them have sat on the trains, going round and round and round.

My lunch was leftover sushi and veggie teriyaki dinner. Tasty enough. Dinner was the leftover  pasta from the other night. I’ve got to finish up the baby bok choy in the next few days as it’s turning, but consider, it’s been in my fridge a month.

Apocalypse Diet (AD) Day 19:

Somehow, this has ended up as a week of eating out. With work, if someone else shares I would consider them or the restaurants) just being generous souls with sharing. So we had Chinese food for lunch. Dinner was out with friends to Les Faux Bourgeoiswhere I had a green salad, with beets, goat cheese and walnuts. It was large but nothing unusual.

From: doesnttaztelikechicken.com

The Fruits de Mer a la Provencale was a dish containing clams, mussels, prawns, scallops in a provencale sauce which is made of tomatoes, capers, onions and garlic. It came with a small cake of saffron fondant potato. I have to say that I dislike saffron. It’s musky, overly pungent and not that pleasant. My friend described it as bitter, which is not what I’ve ever experienced. But this was the first time that the saffron was done with a delicate enough hand that it blended inwell even if I did have saffron burps afterward. The meal was delicious, and recommended should it survive the zombie manifestation. The waiter, too animated to be a zombie, had the cutest French accent.

For those just popping in, the apocalypse happened on January, 1, 2012, just in time for people to freak out about the Mayan calendar. Of course, since the Mayan calendar actually shows the ending of one age and the beginning of another, maybe it’s now the Zombie Age (we’ve already had the consumer age).

I’m pretending that an apocalypse takes place (maybe it’s a supervirus, massive alien abductions or an evil plot), which stops the supply lines (but for the sake of staying healthy and clean, the hydro-electric power and water are still working). I am documenting how long I can live on the food in my place, without shopping. Here are my rules:

  1. I cannot buy any food at all.
  2. If going out for dinner, it’s a bubble outside of the experiment. I will not be going out for dinner often.
  3. When I start to run out of proper nutritionally balanced foods I will take vitamins.
  4. When I become bored or am on to only condiments and alcohol, I will call my experiment  ended.
  5. I believe I’ll be able to eat relatively healthy at least until March.
2 Comments

Filed under consumer affairs, Culture, food, life

2 responses to “Apocalypse Diet Summary: Days 16-19

  1. Pingback: Apocalypse Diet Summary: Days 16-19 | Best Way to Promote Your Blog | BlogHyped

  2. Colleen aka C8H10N4O2 aka Mary Ostler

    I Love this… Hero Status unlocked!

Leave a Reply

