Fourth of July for Writers

Somehow I missed posting this on the 4th. Probably because I fell asleep half way through writing it.

Today was Independence Day for the writers, and overall we did what we’ve been doing all week. We went for dinner but spent longer than usual, then returned to the dorms to write and discuss. When the fireworks went off, a couple of people went outside to watch but they were far away. The KU campus sits on a hill, but the rest of Lawrence is flattish.

I’m now quite excited about my novel and listening to a few others, they were starting to feel this “it’s right” feeling. Of course, everything will change with the critiques next week, where most of us have to rewrite our outlines.

I’ve had to get rid of a viewpoint character that Rhea was calling my Duncan Idaho and completely downplay my gods. And I have to reformat the crisis/conflicts but I also have a second and possibly third novel out of this.

We’ve talked about opening lines and how they convey setting right in the first sentence and that that first sentence is the most important. We’ve looked at pacing and dialogue, overall story arcs, as well as interior and exterior motives/arcs. Much of this I knew but working out the nuances for novels is somewhat different. The pacing can be longer and needs to be, but then you have chapter arcs within story arcs.

I think some of this will settle out once I’ve had time to ruminate.

1 Comment

Filed under Culture, entertainment, fantasy, Publishing, Writing

One response to “Fourth of July for Writers

  1. colleenanderson

    I was just asked by someone:I am here desirous to find a faithful publisher for my book Dying Voices of Gongs.What useful counsel can you give to me.

    If you haven’t done so, workshop your novel either with a writer’s group or attending specific workshops. Write, write and read. And when you get to going to a publisher, research them to see if they’re a fit for your subject as well as being on the up and up. There are vanity presses (you don’t want) self-publishers, small publishers and large publishers.

    I’ll write this up and blog about it. But writing is not a fast and instantaneous road to fame and riches, except for the extremely tiny few. Most of us have to hone our craft, and know our markets.

Leave a Reply

